AICTE sponsored Six-day Energy Conservation Technology workshop

A six-day workshop on ‘Energy Conversion Technology’ was organized in Hindustan College of Science & Technology, Mathura, the flagship college of SGI from 3rd to 8th December, 2018. The AICTE and ISTE New Delhi sponsored workshop was organized by the department of Mechanical Engineering.More than 40 faculty members of about 20 Engineering Colleges of UP took part in this workshop. Mr Sohail Akhtar, Advisory Scientist, GNRE Government of India was the Chief Guest and Dr.Mohammed Moazzam, Director, Central Electricity Authority, was the Guest of Honor of the inaugural function.  Prof.V.K. Sharma Executive Vice President SGI, and Director of HCST Prof.Dr. Rajeev Kumar Upadhyay apprised the challenges of energy conversion in current scenario.They told that there is no existence of human being without energy. Sohail Akhtar said that it is the first step of electrical socialization. He gave detailed information about the Source of Gasoline and other petroleum derived from the Earth. He informed the participants about the five pillars of Nodal Ministry in which NISE is related to Solar Energy. He also said that we are fortunate enough to be Indian that we get 300 clear heat days which are available only in two or three countries in the world .Mr.Sohail told about the mission of producing 175GM electricity by 2022 in India. He preferred the use of institutional resources of Conventional Energy. He emphasized that 40% electricity driven vehicles will be driven in India by 2030 . Educational Institution can't do as much good in experimental research as industrial organization such as Mahindra and Mahindra,Tata motors and Maruti Suzuki can do in this field. India's first electric car, called Reva is being manufactured by the mutual cooperation between Rava and Mahindra and Mahindra. It can run 180 km on a single charge.  ME Puneet Mangla, Head, Mechanical Department proposed vote of thanks in the end of the program. Dilip Johri Asst.Prof of Mechanical Engineering department successfully run the program as Coordinator. On this occasion Dean Students Welfare Dr.Sandeep Agarwal, Dean R&D Prof. M.S. Gaur, Prof. Sanjay Jain, Mr. Kapil Gupta, Dr.Suruchi,all heads of the departments, and faculty members were present.